IELTS Essay : How is your generation different from your parent's generation

Hi,

I wrote this essay on following topic. I would highly appreciate your valuable comments on it. Thank you.

Topic: Every generation of people is different in important ways. How is your generation different from your parent's generation?

My father would often say "Things were quite different when we were young. Today's generation is beyond my comprehension". I acknowledge him and tell him that the change is inevitable as with the passage of time the thinking of people changes. I can see that there are various my generation is quite different to my elder's generation in various ways.

To begin with, I find that younger people are more modern and open minded than their parents. They openly discuss and acknowledge the social issues which were considered taboo by previous generation. For example, youngsters of this time and age consider homosexuality pretty natural and get along with people of different sexual preferences peacefully. In contrast, their older folks deemed same gender sex satanic and they treated gays with utter disgust, considering them people of low moral values.

In addition to above mentioned, another noteworthy difference is that adolescents of present are more educated than their ancestors. Furthermore, current generation is more interested in getting higher education. Taking my own family as an example, my father is the only child who managed to earn a university degree in comparison to his siblings, who bade farewell to education after high school. Whereas I, my brothers and sister all of us are graduates. Even my eldest sister is defending her thesis proposal in a month or two.

Putting it in a nutshell, there is no disaccord in opinion that there are various gaps between the two generations. Instead of letting these different perspectives about life separate the two fractions, I would recommend that the members of the generations should find out ways to get along with each other.