gaining knowledge/ More job opportunities; Reasons behind attending universities

This is my essay. :)

According to the Longman dictionary, the word university means "an educational institution at the highest level, where you study for a degree". In fact, universities differ in many aspects such as educational level, an academic things, and good curricula. Also, our objectives to attend universities differ from person to person. Moreover, the majority of us attend university for two main reasons which are increasing knowledge and getting more chances for jobs in the future.

Many people enter universities to get more information and knowledge in fields we enroll for. Universities are considered as an important source of learning. For instance, because of professors in the universities are well-educated, well-certified and sophisticated. They are considered as a direct source of information from which students can contact and interact with to gain information. Moreover, libraries at the universities are deemed one of most important references for students to get knowledge related to their studying. For example, Libraries contain many references such as books, past papers, researches, articles, and CDs that facilitate research for students.

Beside, one of the main important reasons for attending universities is to get more opportunity for jobs. Nowadays, everything has developed which forces people to improve themselves according to this. For instance, in the past, it was acceptable for an institution to hire an employee who has no knowledge of computers, whereas, nowadays, it is very difficult for an organization to admit an employee who doesn't have at least ICDL certificate even if his job is not related to the computer. Actually the more approved certificates you have the more chances you have for a good job with high salary.

In conclusion, gaining knowledge and having more chances for jobs in the future are considered the basic goals for people to attend universities. In my opinion, to have a certificate from an approval university is not as important as having knowledge and information in your mind. Furthermore, to have information in our minds without using it is a big loss so that when we study something at university, we have to benefit other people by using it.