GRE ; Free university education to every student who cannot afford it

Please give me some advice on this GRE essay!

Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Good educational background is believed to provide a person with better occupational opportunity. Thus, a country where people are given chances to access academic institutions is investing in a prolific long-term business which will eventually have positive impacts on its whole society. Hence, some people argue that free university education should be given free to students who has been admitted but cannot support their education themselves. This idea, however, is partly true. Free education should be given to poor students, but university authorities should take measures to ensure those students deserve it and take budget requirement into consideration.

On the one hand, it's the government responsibility to make university education affordable to its people. Knowledge and experience earned during university study can help students who suffer deprivation have better future employment. For example, Myhanh, an orphan living in HCMC with her uncle, is financed by the city's authority to continue her tertiary education in University of Medical after passing the entrance exam in 2001. She graduated in 2007 and has been working as a doctor so far. Another reason for this is the general development of a country. Those students, after graduating from universities, will work and make contributions to society in different ways, much more valuable than the outlay that the government affords for their initial study.

On the other hand, government should take measures to ensure that those students deserve university education. Such factors as enthusiasm and ambition should be taken into consideration. Good students without being interest in study may fail to complete his course. Moreover, financed students must make a commitment to maintain or improve their study results to an agreed level. For example, University of Technical Education HCMC agreed to fund an amount of tuition if a poor student gains a GPA of or more than 8.0. By this way, government can make best use of its educational budget.

Another issue need considering is budget allocation on such programs. Governments cannot offer free university education to every poor student admitted by universities in their country since it requires a huge amount of money. In addition, studying countries with excellent education system like the US is the dream of millions of international students, many of whom are good enough to be admitted by US's universities but unable to afford their study. Obviously, by no means can the US government fund all those students. Instead, they should find solutions that can relieve the budget burden of the government, for example, granting loans.

In conclusion, although education is necessary to the general long-term development of a country and should be accessible to everyone, governments should analyze their budget as well as facilities before offering free university education to poor students.