Foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Advantage outweight disadavantages

Nowadays, the importance of foreign language has been recognized not only in the school, but also in the society. Therefore, many experts think that children should start learning foreign language at elementary school rather than middle school. In my opinion, it is good for children to learn a new language. However, it could be overloaded for them to learn many subjects at primary school.

There are several reasons why children should learn foreign language as soon as possible. Firstly, there has been little scientific research into such in which ages children learn language much better, so there is an evidence to support the above idea. According to the result of the research, from the ages of 5 to 10, children can easily master a new language, because their brain have enormous spaces to adapt to new things. Furthermore, children have better memory system than adult. They can remember things, such as languages, in a long time. This reason is that they learn things through imitation. In my homeland, children begin learning a second language at primary school. They learn English in class, as well as activities, for example, singing, visiting zoo with English-speaking tour guide, etc.

In the other hand, we should consider the overloaded situation at primary school now. It is a contentious issue for many parents. They argued that their children have to learn so many subjects, and some of them are unnecessary. Additionally, children need free time to develop themselves and enjoy their childhood. We should not force them to learn too many subjects at primary school. For instance, children in my home have to learn 12 subjects and a second language, such as English, in 2 semester annually. They are completed overloaded due to this kind of educational.

In conclusion, I strongly agreed that foreign language is very important to learn. However, it might be learnt at primary school as an optional subject, which is not mandatory.