'Never has food failed to attract people's eyes' - I prefer cooking at home; TOEFL essay

Never has food failed to attract people's eyes. With the boom of restaurants, more and more people are inclined to have dinner here, instead of preparing food at home by themselves.

People going to restaurant always allege that the taste of dishes presented by waiters usually better than those prepared at home. Meanwhile, they hold that the cooks in restaurant are able to offer various kinds of cuisine in the world, either Chinese food or western meal, while it is difficult for people to cook every course by themselves, especially when such cooking requires some sophisticated skills or special tools. Besides, it is very convenient to eat in restaurants, since they do not have to spend much time on buying raw material, cleaning and cutting vegetables, and cooking it in the hot kitchen.

As far as I am concerned, however, I would like to enjoy delicious meals at home rather than waiting in front of a table in the restaurant.

First of all, in spite of the better taste of food cooked in restaurants, the food usually less healthy than that made by myself. It is the nutrition that I will pay more attention on. In order to pursue the impressive taste, chefs in the restaurants often use unhealthy materials or adopt an unbalanced percentage of different food and ingredients, such as too much salt and oil. By contrast, cooking in family will focuses more on the balance of nutrition, so that dinner can play a positive role in keeping our health, but not harming us.

After that, cooking by oneself contributes to a good lifestyle. Selecting colourful food in the groceries, reading cookbook to learn how to prepare a popular meal, standing in the kitchen to cut and cook always make dishes displayed on the table more meaningful. No longer does cooking have the sole role in protecting us from starvation, but develop our faith and attitude towards lives during the process of preparation.

The last but not the least, preparing food is an excellent activity to enhance the emotional relationship between us and our family or friends. Take my own experience of cooking dumplings with my colleagues as an example. The leader invited the office to his apartment to cook dumplings. And some colleagues were responsible to stir the meat and cut vegetable, while others boiled the dumplings. Although the taste was not good enough, but it did create a happy and harmonious atmosphere in the office, and the spirits of the teamwork were cultivated to an extent.

Therefore, as for me, I prefer cooking at home to having meals directly in a restaurant, because I can enjoy more about the food.