GRE: fields of study in which students are unlikely to succeed should be banned

Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

(Response)

Educational institutes have the responsibility of providing students a good knowledge base and making them competent enough to take their own decisions. Teachers and facilitators may have a good understanding of the skills and mind of an individual student yet this understanding does not exceeds student's self awareness. Therefore, under no circumstance, should an institute discourage a student in pursuing what they wish to pursue.

A student, if taught well and provided with adequate sources of information, will be aware of the skills and talents they have. They will also be aware of their interest and inspiration necessary for success in future. Based on this knowledge, they can better choose for themselves. It may be argued that a teacher knows a student's weakness and hence will be more than capable to guide them. However, if a weakness exists it may be worked upon if one is motivated.

Students may not always have a choice of pursuing the field that interests them. Many of my classmates at high school had intention of joining the medical college only because their parents wanted them to. In this case, educational institutes should have intervened and helped students to find out their interests and parental sessions might have been conducted too. Still, no discouragement should be shown to such students for whatever they decide to choose in the end.

Peer influence is yet another problem that the students face while deciding what to pursue next. Losing friends, transferring to another city or going abroad, choosing fields with no certain future etc. might be harder than presumed by educational institutes. The students should be motivated to go for what they think is right for them; sometimes it may be choosing what interests them and sometimes not. In my case, I had excellent mathematical skills yet I chose biology because that was where my interest lied.

The future success is considered to be based on an individual's talent in a field. However, their interest is usually fueled by passion to do something unique. Without this passion there will be no reason for hard work and thus, a student may fail even in the field they are considered to be proficient.

It is necessary for the students to be well equipped while choosing their future. This important role is obviously played by their educational institutes. But the students should be made capable of choosing well for themselves. Also, trust should be shown in their choices and in them.

(Please mark on a scale of 1-6)