IELTS 2; Will fast foods be more prevalent and eventually replace traditional methods

Hope you will contribute on this.

TASK 2: Convenient foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods/ methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the opinion.

It is a well-known fact that fast foods have invaded our dining table due to our sedentary life styles. Some people claim that this would cause extinction of traditional foods and practices as people are going behind easier ways. But it is not so, for the fact that there are numerous ancient cuisines highly valued for their nutritional and medicinal benefits. Based on these, I firmly believe that traditional ways can never be substituted for the convenient means.

People living today concerns more on fast foods with the limited time they left with. These are mostly pre cooked, consumes less time to prepare. Their benefits are indispensable for a working mother preparing meals for a schoolboy in a busy morning. Similarly, its merits further extend to the easy accessibility, palatability and for being fortified with vitamins and minerals. For these reasons it has shown to be popular but it is worthwhile looking whether these practices are actually brings beneficial effects in the prolong use.

In comparison, conventional foods have shown countless advantages in healthy life styles. The ingredients used in these methods are fresh and naturally extracted hence harm less. In addition, its nutritional and medicinal value in Eastern medicine is tremendous in curing diseases emerged due to sedentary life styles. For example, gruel made out of red rice, garlic and ginger is effective in reducing excess fat stored in our body. On the other hand, since most of these foods are cheep and readily available, a government looking for solutions for malnutrition gets ample opportunities to get the nutritious food to reasonable prices.

In conclusion, based on the value in curing diseases and addressing many third world problems, it has become more popular and hence mere easygoing foods cannot replace such marvelous practices, which have been secured for thousands of years.