Ielts: What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic are they?

As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is true that job satisfaction has become a key factor when evaluating a worker's occupation in today's modern societies, which is the result of combination of several factors. However, to fulfill the expectations of every staff member of a company is such an impractical task.

First and foremost, recognition for an employee's efforts put into work is notably the top element of satisfaction level. In fact, he will be more contended and motivated if he perceives that his work are highly appreciated by supervisors and colleagues and as such, he will definitely continue to contribute his value to his organisation. In addition, the potential benefits deriving from the profession, namely income and promotion, are equally important. That is, compensation is a rewarding means of reflecting one's talents and achievements overall. Moreover, by aiming to move up the ranks will workers be encouraged to strive as hard as possible.

Nevertheless, job satisfaction should solely be analysed from individual perspective instead of communal one. To be more specific, it should be noted that some workers are working under such an uncomfortable environment that totally does not come up to their expectations. For instance, they have to put up with unapproachable bosses and unfriendly co-workers and keep performing their duties only with a view to making ends meet and paying for their daily living costs. Furthermore, in terms of the financial reward for the staff, if a manager simply offers a bonus to all subordinates, he will fail to focus on individuals who work much harder than others.

To sum up, employees' contentment generally comprises appreciation for their feats and rewards that they deserve to receive. Even so, satisfying all of them would undoubtedly be not effortless anyway.