'Understand others' emotion, attitude and feelings' - face-to-face communication is better

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Face-to-face communication is better than other types of communication, such as letters, e-mail, or telephone calls.

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

There have been many technological breakthroughs in communication such as telephone or e-mail. They all affect the way we are in touch with other people at some aspects, but they cannot replace the best type of communication: face-to-face interaction. Why? It is because when people are talking directly, they can show and see each others' emotion clearly.

First, face-to-face communication helps us recognize the attitude of the others towards you. Human being is so complex that one can express her emotion and attitude by using hundreds kinds of facial expression. They can show you what they feel about you by moving their eyebrow, smiling...For example, you are telling jokes at a party. You can infer this from people's faces that you are not very good at making people laugh. Therefore, you can adjust your behaviors properly before you make fun of yourself. However, if you use e-mail or instant messages, you simply see texts and it is very hard to know if the others are willing to communicate with you.

Additionally, you can show your emotion and willingness to other people when you talk with them. For instance, a smile can bring a sense of friendliness; therefore, people can talk with you comfortably. You can make friends more easily and the impression about you will stay in people's memories longer. Besides, face-to-face communication can help you reflect yourself a lot. During a discussion, eye contact, posture and speech can show a person's confidence, persistence, ability and determination to win the debate. If you can use these factors effectively, you are likely to get the upper hand. That is a reason why world conferences are not held online. People in important positions from different government gather, in addition to use logical and persuasive language to present their opinions, they also take the advantages of face-to-face communication.

In summation, during a conversation or a meeting, the most important aspect is that people understand each others' emotion, attitude and feelings, and only face-to-face communication can provide this unique feature.