Face-to-face communication preferable to those who need to know what the interlocutor's feelings are

Hi everyone! I am going to take TOEFL test within few days. Since I am studying by myself, I'll like to understand if my writing is good or not.

Thank you for your help in advanced :)

TOPIC #46. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Face-to-face communication is better than other types of communication, such as letters, email, or telephone calls. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Although many people nowadays tend to use more email and instant messaging in order to communicate with the others, some people still think that the better form of communication is face to face. As for me, I firmly agree with the statement and I believe that those people who prefer this kind of communication do it for several reasons.

First of all, when people communicate to each other in person, they can have instant feedback. Thus, they do not have to wait hours or days to get an answer to their question, as it occurs for letters or emails. Moreover, it is harder to try to avoid responding to your interlocutor. On the contrary, it is something that can often occur if you have chosen as a mean of communication your telephone or computer. In this cases, it is easier to make up an excuse to bypass an embarrassing question by saying " Sorry, but I have to go now. Let's talk about it another time." Therefore, the main advantage related to face to face communication is a more honest and direct reply.

Furthermore, we need also to take into account what the experts call " non verbal communication". When discussing with a person, we can understand better what a person actually thinks about that specific argument, thanks to non- verbal messages. These consist of a series of facial expressions or gestures, that help us to comprehend if the messages the person's body are sending us coincide with what the person is actually saying. For instance, to make an easy example, when we receive an unexpected gift, our face expressions can tell if we are surprised, disappointed, happy or angry. Therefore, in a face to face communication our interlocutor can get more response and understand our feelings and emotions during the whole conversation. An aspect that we can't obviously analyze by receiving an email or a phone call.

To sum up, face to face communication appears to me to have many advantages. I believe it is the most preferable to those people who are eager to know what the interlocutor's feelings are.