IELTS : The examination for alternative energy sources : beneficial or harmful?

One day the world's oil and gas reserves will run out. The search for alternative energy sources like wind power, solar power, burning waste, and water power are causing as much environmental damage as the oil and nuclear power sources they are intended to replace.

+ How far do you agree with this latter statement?

+ What possible benefits do the alternative energy sources bring? OR What damage do they cause?

As the natural resources which we depend on for generating energy are coming to an end, it is an urgent need that alternative energy sources must be found. However, the search for those kinds of resources has been claimed to be as harmful to the environment as the contemporary ones. I would disagree with this statement for many reasons.

Firstly, the production and usage of oil and nuclear power have caused many unmeasurable consequences to the earth's health. The procedure of turning unrefined oil into some usable products itseft is harmful to the enviroment as too many exhaust fumes are emitted. Likewise, when there is a nuclear factory explosion , a whole city can be turned into a ghost town as in case of Chernobyl. Therefore, to continue using these kinds of limited energy resources is risky and impractical in the long term. Turning to alternative energy sources, it is obvious that solar, wind or water energy are all enviromentally friendly since they are renewable, not to mention it is absolutely not complicated and dangerous when transmitting these types of natural resources into usable energy.

The benefits of those renewable resources are plenty. First of all, they are not harmful to the environment. Since human beings always has to suffer from what they have done to the earth, for example desforestation leads to flood and soil erosion, it is vital that the type of resources which we harness are well available and unharmful to the surroundings. Secondly, they are unlimited ,which are very important because oil and gas are about to run out. Therefore. if we do not quickly make use of the available environmentally friendly energy, we will meet a serious energy shortage in near future.

To sum up, although the progress of seeking for new alternative energy sources has some negative impacts, I believe the benefits it brings about far overcome its drawbacks in many ways.