Every day computer use by children - 'Computer is a miraculous tool'

Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on children. Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Computer is a miraculous tool in the field of information technology which has successfully expanded its horizon across the globe. Many, especially children have certainly benefited from this incredible tool. Hence, I for one strongly believe that the use of computers daily brings more positive impacts to the children's life compared to negative effects.

Computers have undoubtedly aided children in acquiring knowledge. Information available in the Internet not only satisfies their curiosities on diverse issues, but also aid in comprehending their studies. For example, certain YouTube videos uploaded by tutors such as Armando Hasudungan have certainly helped Biological students understand the subject better. Hence, children are able to benefit from the use of computers.

Apart from that, children who are computer-literate are certainly at advantage. This is because there are multiple programs in computers such as Power Point and Microsoft Video Maker that can help children's presentation at school much appealing and interesting. Being computer literates, these children will be much preferred by employers during their career phase. Therefore, parents who encourage students to use computers for a reasonable period of time are actually investing in their child's future.

Not only that, computers when used in an appropriate manner can become a wonderful medium of entertainment. This is especially true for children who have studied hard for the whole day and are expecting some entertainment to enlighten them. Social networking sites such as Facebook, YouTube and games, for instance "Dota" are among the most sought entertainments.

However, parents must keep an eye on their children and monitor their activities in the computer. Despite providing numerous benefits, computers also have their own drawbacks. Some tend to misuse computers by visiting pornography sites as well as hacking websites. Not only that, problems also arise when children spend most of their time in the computer, consequently leading to decline in their academic performances as well as deterioration in social skills. Thus, monitoring by parents is of great importance.

In conclusion, I strongly opine that computers present more advantages rather than disadvantages and are here to stay. When used in an appropriate manner, computers are indeed a great tool.