esssay -global warming&natural disasters

Research essay

TOPIC

Many nations are becoming increasingly alarmed at the increase of environmental damage. Discuss the causes and effects of this issue with reference to TWO of the following topics.

-global warming

-poor farming practices

-natural disasters

high populations

-any other areas

I chose global warming and natural disasters.

We are living in the world where almost every part is polluted. Humans and animals are suffering from the effect of polluted planet. When we look at this into more closely, ironically, we find that the consequence is led by the very us. With a process developing industries, we allowed tons of greenhouse gases release into the air, which are leading to the increasement of temperature in the planet, attributing to the natural disasters as well.

The processes of burning fuels are aggravating the global warning. To develop industry for the better standard of living, the process of burning fuels are inevitable considering there are no other alternative sources except coal and petroleum at the moment. Carbon dioxides, the main culprit of global warming, are exhausted from various places and vehicles such as power plants, buildings, cars, and planes. Emission of methane, which are about 60times more effective than carbon dioxide in trapping the heat inside of our planet, emitted from livestock is also partly, but not least, contributing to the global warming. That is to say developing economically alternative resources and focusing on cutting down the above two main greenhouse gases is impending.

The consequence of the global warming is serious than general recognition. Noticeably, the process of melting down glacial is speeding up as temperature of the earth keep rising, which goes directly to the raised sea level. Experts say that even a small rise of the sea level will result in wiping out the whole nations and their culture that have existed for thousands of years (Jonathan Overpeck, 2009, 08, 25). The rise of temperature on the planet also results in extending the range of mosquitoes that spread malaria, which would also annihilate the whole nations of developing countries, not to mention the poor ones. Thus, while some are blessed with industries, others are suffering from the leftovers on the other side of the earth.

Then natural disaster follows in various forms. The heated earth leaves dreadful droughts and aggravates desertification, and even provokes tsunami more often, which results in broad range of famine and disease (David Roberts, 2009, 08, 25). In addition, Limnic eruptions, in which carbon dioxide suddenly erupts from deep lake water, are occurred more often than usual since slight increase in temperature would easily trigger the eruption, suffocating human, wildlife, and livestock.

At the same time, the natural disaster caused by greenhouse effect have brought bad effects on the economy. According to the department of energy in USA, investing 1 million dollar to spur biofuels industry ended up as 4% of increasement in the price of corns (Department of Energy, 2009, 08, 25). What's more, Longer summers have led to an increase in the allergy season and increased health care costs for asthma and allergy sufferers. Therefore, at this angle, it can be said that the efforts trying to go ahead in economy rather drew back in some level.

In a nutshell, humans are bringing about the consequences from which humans itself suffer. In the long term, burning off fuels in trying to grow up the industry for the better economy are merely strangling us by raising the price of the corns, provoking wide range of natural disasters and polluting our very planet. Even though it's not early stage to prevent some natural disaster given the fact that the earth have already shown the strange symptoms of global warming, we are to continue to endeavor in seeking for alternative resources and should try to start in posing environmental issues before economy's.

Any correction or commenting would be appreciated. Due to my shortness of knowledge in english, my sentences tends to be long in length. If you have anysuggestion on this, that would be also very welcome