Ielts: Can environmental problems be solved by individuals?

Thanks for your feedbacks. All are really valuable for me! Love

Some people claim that environmental issues can't be tacked by individual because of its difficulty and complexity. However, others believe each person or country singly play a significant role in solving many environmental problems. In my view, individuals can put their efforts in improving our surroundings.

To begin with, a small act can make a big change. Start from replacing the use of private transport by using public ones, each citizen has contributed to reduce the carbon dioxide emission on Earth. Raising awareness of each individual should be emphasized in school activities. Take my school as an example, twice a semester, students are encouraged to join the event titled "Plant tree, build future" to plant at least one tree in school back yard. This event is truly helpful in teaching students the importance of planting trees and conserving our globe. Plus, each country should impose higher tax on gasoline to curb the use of gasoline and stricter punishment on criminal activities to safeguard the natural environment.

In the other words, some environmental problems are only solved with the cooperation among countries in the world. One approach is Kyoto protocol. This treaty is highly considered as a practical and necessary step of international community on facing current environmental facts. Joined members in this protocol need to put forward immediate and effective solutions to tackle environmental issues. Furthermore, richer countries should release some packs of aid to support poorer ones develop abilities in conserving natural environment.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that each individual is a decisive factor in protecting the globe from negatives effects or even the self-damage. With non-stop attempt and awareness of each person, we have rights to believe in a brighter future with fresh air and green surroundings.