[TOEFL]The environmental issue is too complex to be handled by the individual.

Thanks for everyone's help!!

Contemporarily, a series of solutions are being used to control the increasing environmental issues such as restoring vegetation, reducing the emission of pollutants and developing new clean energy. Although these solutions need the power of governments, the individual also has responsibilities for the environmental issues.

Firstly, people can help to save our planet by driving cars less often. A recent authoritative survey indicates that nearly one third of petrol consumption is on cars every year. So if we take public transportations more frequently instead of driving a car, there will probably be a huge decrease on the fuel consuming and then slow the pace of the energy on earth running out. Furthermore, the motor vehicle exhaust makes photochemical smog, which is a kind of air pollution discovered in recent twenty years. It is undoubtable that with the plenty of motor vehicle exhaust, the air can never be clean as in the past.

Secondly, individuals may use more environmental-friendly products instead of disposable products like plastic bags or chopsticks. Not only wasting resources for production, but the disposable products, which may maintain for centuries, may also occupy a great amount of land after being used. Once they are flowed into water or blown into sky, they turn into water pollutions or air pollutions. Therefore, people may use some environmental-friendly products instead. For instance, when going to supermarkets, people can take reusable bags by themselves instead of asking for a plastic bag or a paper bag.

Finally, although individuals have their own responsibilities for the environmental issues, they have no big power or authority, which mostly comes from governments and even international cooperations. For example, the Kyoto Protocol in 1997 effectively control the emission of carbon dioxide at that time. The governments can put the effective methods in laws and decrees such as driving restriction or the limitation of exhaust emission. To some extent, these obligatory rules solve the environmental issues effectively and efficiently.

In general, the individuals can make a contribution to dealing with environmental issues. Anything is better than nothing. Therefore, the individuals, the governments and international organizations all play a significant role in solving environmental issues.