"encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school" - agree?

In some countries people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university study.

Discus the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

One of the most exciting moments in everyone's life is going from high school to university. For some people it would be a big challenge. In order to preparation of these students some countries encourage them to work or travel between finishing high school and starting university study. I attempt to explicate the advantages this notion outweigh its drawbacks because of two reason as follows.

Some students aren't quite ready to start university. Having fear of facing new people and a dark picture of future are behind this situation. Travel is a golden opportunity for them because they learn about new people and different cultures and also learn how to interact with a lot of different people so that makes them ready to start university. I think through their trip, being far from books, lessons and classrooms, they can refocus their priority in their next educational step and set their goals to continue their education.

Another advantage of this idea is allocated to work. Deciding to work for a while before university, let them know their talents and job skills which help them to know what job is the best for them. Because most of the lessons and subjects of high schools are based on theory, working provide chance to get practical experiences in real world and learn more about different jobs.

By contrast, although this notion has great benefits, there are some aspects that raise controversial issues. For one thing, travel can shift students in another direction and make them away from their main goals at least for a while. In addition, being inconsistent with their personal skills, work may bring them a disappointing experience.

In conclusion, considering the above mentioned remarks, I personally believe this notion would be helpful when student start university. It helps them learn how to interact with other students and how to overcome their fears in new situation. What would you prefer to do if you were in their shoes? Travel or work?