Encourage to take private health care insurance or maintain free health care systems?

The costs of medical health care are increasing all the time. Governments are finding it difficult to balance the health care budget.

Should citizens be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out private health insurance, or is it better to have a comprehensive health care system which provides free health services for all? Discuss.

There is no doubt that taking out private health insurance or maintaining the free health care system with free health care services, during the period that the price of health care services and variety of medicine keeps increasing and there is no sign of falling down, is an issue of much controversy. The arguments surrounding this issue will hence be discussed in the essay.

There are strong reasons that someone should be encouraged to buy private health care insurance. To begin with, giving free health care services to wealthy people who can afford or even they are willing to pay for good services is a waste of tax payers' money. Secondly, people who pay for insurance premiums have better services which free health care services cannot offer; such as they can select the best hospitals, choose the favored doctors or can stay in convenient patience rooms, .etc. Thirdly, paying insurance fees is one of the practical actions to help to lighten the government's financial burden.

On the other hand, there are also important reasons for remaining free health care systems with free health services; these systems still play an important role in society. For example, it enables people living in poverty or unemployed who cannot afford for dear insurance fees and expensive medical bills to have a way to take care of their health. No matter how poor they are, their rights to access health care system cannot be rejected. However, for those who are working, they should pay a percentage (1% or 2%) of their, even little, income as a tax which pays for the cost of providing "free" health care services. It is also another effective way to help the government.

In conclusion, my point of view is that governments should maintain both private health insurance systems and free medical care systems. The former ones are for people who are willing to pay and the other ones are for people who cannot pay or cannot afford to expensive health care services.