IELTS - To encourage old people using mobile phones and the internet

Topic Mobile phones and the internet are very useful. However, it is rare for old people to use them. What ways could mobile phones and the internet be useful to old people? How does the old people to be encouraged using this new technology?

There are many great inventions of the 20th-century. Among the inventions mobile phones and the internet are widely used in our life; nevertheless, old people rarely use them because they have not realized the benefits of mobile phones and the internet.

Obviously, mobile phones and the internet could be useful to old people in various ways. To start with, both of them are convenient. For example, if old people carrying mobile phones encounter difficulties outdoors, they will call for help immediately instead of finding a booth. In addition, the internet can help old people to collect extensive information. There is no doubt that searching for news online is effective and time-saving. Furthermore, people using the internet can save their money. As is known to all, online shopping provides a platform for individuals to purchase cheaper products.

As mobile phones and the internet are helpful, it is necessary to encourage old people using them. Firstly, to help old people get familiar with the new technology, our government can offer some elementary courses about using mobile phones and the internet. Secondly, the fees of network services can be reduced for seniors so that they will be willing to use them. Last but not least, we can propagate the ideas that using mobile phones and the internet can better our life. Once old people are aware of the advantages brought by the new technologies, they will start to use mobile phones and the internet intentionally.

In conclusion, old people should not stay away from the new technologies and they should be encouraged using them.