TOEFL - Employers should provide smoking areas for their employees

Smoking cigarettes has become a common habit among people. .As we all know that smoking is injurious to our health. It not only kills the one who smokes but also others around them. It is said that passive smoking is even more dangerous than smoking. So I think it is better to probode a seperate area for the employees who smoke.

To begin with, diseases caused by smoking kills more people than road traffic accidents every year. Cigarettes smoking causes deadly diseases like cancer, heart and lung diseases. Incidence of lung cancer has been increased over the past several years. This points out towards the increasing usage of tobacco as well as cigarette smoking. it is being said that smoking over a year reduce our life expectancy by 5 years. Passive smokers also gets affected by lung cancer. Many deaths have been reported. It is really unconvinient for a non smoker to smell the cigarette smoke. So providing a seperate smoking room will satisfy smokers and it will save the life of non smoking people.

secondly, it is not fair to ban smoking as it is a violation of democracy. But prohibiting public smoking is a must. Smoking is not a easy habit to stop, people get addicted to smoking easily. Nicotine is responsible for this addiction. These people get irritated or they will feel some kinds of discomfort if they donot smoke.This I turn affect the productivity of the company. If an employee cannot work properlythe company will not progress. Providing seperate rooms wil satisfy both smokers as well as non smokers.

Finally, if the companies ban the usage of cigarettes, people will reduce buying them. Tobacco industry is a booming business in our country. It contribute to economy of our nation by providing a good revenue to our government. Other than that these indusrtry provide empolymnet to a number of people, if these companies are shut down they become unemployed.

To sum it up, smoking rooms at workplace is a must. It makes both smokers and non smokers happy And can work there without any inconvenience.