Employee should have chance to select their retirement age

Topic: In some countries the average worker is obliged to retire at the age of 50, while in others people can work until they are 65 or 70. Meanwhile, we see some politicians enjoying power well into their eighties. Clearly, there is little agreement on an appropriate retirement age. Until what age do you think people should be encouraged to remain in paid employment?

Today, in the most country, the idea for retirement age is raising. But there are many factors to be considered and discussed about appropriate retirement age. Personally, I think the government should discard mandatory retirement. In this essay I will analyses the issue in details.

First, there are a lot of occupations not having retirement age such as scientist, artist (singer, poet, actor...), politicians... I believe that most of them who are workaholic prefer to work until they die. They would not be happy sitting home everyday when they are used to going to work. For instance, Mrs. Schweer is the oldest politician in American. Now she is 105 years old but she still works with diligence.

Second, Facts have shown that retirement age regulations are a waste of grey matter. There are many executives who are formally trained must retire while they have still full health to work. In addition, the elder often have so many experience work, they have ability to deal with unexpected event in work. Therefore, there is no reason most the public can not working till 65 or more. The government should continue hire elder if they want to work.

Last but not least, employee should retire when physical conditions no longer allow the person to work more. The government can not require them to continue working at the age of 55 or more when they have strenuous work. Some occupations should retire early because nature of the work such as builder, stonemason, welder...to name but a few. They should retire when they feel ready want to take care for their health, pursue hobbies and enjoy the "fruits of their labor". But some people must face with the finance issue, they need to save more money each year before retire.

To sum up, deciding when to retire is a might difficult decision for many people. Retirement age should depend on what type of lifestyle to lead in retirement. Employee should have chance to select their retirement age.