Pain at the pump. An electric vehicle should be your next car

Lately everyone has experienced the pain at the pump. The sky-high gas prices force people to think of alternative vehicles to reduce the cost of driving. An electric vehicle has crossed my mind many times in the past year. After looking into the cost for maintenance, the cost of recharging, and the performance of electric vehicles, I am convinced that my next car will be an electric car.

Firstly , electric vehicles require much less time and money for maintenance than traditional vehicles. They require no regular tune-ups, and oil changes like traditional vehicles. Furthermore, they have no timing-belts, no water pumps, no radiators, no fuel injectors, and no tail-pipes to replace; therefore, they require very little maintenance.

Next, they cost much less to recharge compared to the cost to refuel traditional vehicles. For instant, my current car required premium gas, and the premium gas costs on average about five dollars per gallon. Consequently, my car costs me approximately seventy dollars for every two weeks to refuel, and I am not a typical driver. I only drive about three to four thousand miles per year. On the other hand, electric vehicles only cost around a dollar per day to recharge according to California Air Resource Board's recent survey.

Lastly, their performances are as superior or better than traditional vehicles. Performance Testing done by California Air Resource Board has demonstrated that Electric Vehicles' acceleration, speed, and handling equal to or exceed that of traditional vehicles. Electric vehicles are very energy efficient; they are about seventy five percent energy efficient compared with twenty percent fuel efficiency in the tradition vehicles. They produce less noise because the engines do not run if the vehicles are not moving.

In conclusion, Electric vehicles require less time and money to maintain and recharge, yet they has the same or better performance than traditional vehicles. I am convinced that owning an electric car in the near future is the smart decision. In 2009, there will be quite a few number of electric cars coming onto the market; Think, Subaru, and Mitsubishi are just to name a few. If you are trying to cut down the cost driving, you should test drive electric vehicles at your next trip to the car dealers.