the effort involved in pursuing any goal -advise, corrections are welcomed!

Assignment: Is the effort involved in pursuing any goal valuable, even if the goal is not reached?

Although people want their efforts to be paid off, it is impossible that people can achieve every goal. In my mind, those efforts in vain are as worthwhile as those efforts that lead to success.

When I was seven years old and was in the second grade of elementary school. I was chosen to compete in a 1500 meters race in our school sports meeting. Although I had never tried to run such a long distance, I accepted the task because I really want to do something for my own class. On the following day, I made a plan and began my practice. A week later, when I swearily completed the full distance, I cried with joy. Soon after that, the meeting began and I stood on the racing field with my legs shivering. In the beginning, I can run easily and got the second place in my group. But when there was only 500 meters left, I have already exhausted and wished to have a rest. My whole class went near the racing field, shouted passionately, tried to cheer me up. Finally, I got to the end with my numb legs and I nearly fell onto the ground. I was the last in my group and got 7th in the total ten competitors. I cried, thinking that I could have done better. My mates came and hugged me, said,"even if you did not got the champion, you will always be the hero in our class."

My teacher came and had a few words with my, which I would always remember. She said,"Helen, everybody saw your excellent performance on the field. Getting the 7th is quiet an achievement for those who attempt this race for the first time. The award is not the only goal that I want you to achieve. See, you are much stronger than before and you are also much more outgoing. Even though you are not the champion in this competition, you are the champion of yourself. Your efforts is worthwhile and even more valuable than those who got the champions.

"Yeah,"I murmured. "I have changed a lot with this experience. I also possess perseverance. This is a success already. Although I did not achieve my dream getting the champion, my efforts have brought me a lot and it worth the efforts."