IELTS: Effects of technology to communication - dangers for a society

Technology is making communication easier in today's world, but at the expense of personal contact as many people choose to work at home in front of a computer screen.

What dangers are there for a society which depends on computer screens rather than face-to-face contact for its main means of communications?

In the past, the method of communication was straightforward. If you want to speak to a person, you go out, meet the person somewhere and you talk in front of each other. While that is still very much true today, with the advancement of technology, the communication landscape has slightly altered. Computer screens are gradually taking over the conventional face-to-face contact with the highly sophisticated telecommunication systems which are recently invented. This, however, possesses serious dangers to the society for a number of ways.

One direct impact to this is the communication itself. It is known to us that communication doesn't only rely on the verbal language that we speak. Body language, which contributes a portion of our communication, is as important as words. Without seeing the person physically, a lot of messages is being dropped from the conversation. Thus, miscommunication is highly likely to occur and therefore the society, as a whole, will be affected over time.

Another possible negative implication to this is the fact that we become disconnected to our society, in particular our own community. If people keep on staying in front of their electronic devices, chances are that only very few of them would now go out and interact with other members of their community. This means time will come when certain people are alien to its own town. Clearly, this has to be discouraged in any possible means. Besides, businesses who rely on shopping trades need people to come out of their homes and socialize in malls and other places where products are at display.

In conclusion, people are starting to get accustomed to communication via electronics. Although it has its fair share of advantages, it is obvious that the negative impacts it brings can harm the society severely.