IELTS Essay: The effects of people getting married and having children in their thirties

Nowadays people are getting married and having children in their thirties. Does it have a positive or a negative impact on the society? Give your opinion and examples.

The rate of late marriage in modern societies has risen alarmingly during the last decades. This apprehensive trend has brought multiple negative effects including lack of coordination in family lives, generation gap, and various health problems that should be addressed accordingly.

The first consequence of late marriage is lack of coordination between couples. Having long-established habits and being immutable, the couples find it daunting to adapt themselves to new lifestyle. For example, consider how it would be difficult for a person in his 40s to change a habit compared to a younger on in 20s. This resistance to change which incurs during years would lead families to constant arguments and might end in divorce occasionally.

Furthermore, in terms of family relationship, there would be a wider generation gap in late married families. Today's children are reluctant to communicate with old-fashioned and traditional parents who are believed to be incapable of understanding modern life issues and concerns. No only would this incurring distance between children and parents affect the young's emotions adversely, but also would weaken family ties in a dramatic way.

Last but not least, as far as family health is concerned, there would be many risks involved in late marriage. Down syndrome, for example, is one of the consequences of pregnancy in later stage of life. In addition, the risk of becoming sterile would highly rise if the first birth has delayed for a long time.

To sum up, it is evident that there are many negative effects in late marriage and, therefore, steps must be taken to prevent the situation deteriorating further.