The effective leader should try to make other members feel that they are part of decisions.

an effective leader tries to make other members feel that they are part of decisions

As competition heats up around the world, leadership has become a perpetual topic. A common phenomenon is that some leaders try to make the employees feel part of the decision to strength the cohesiveness of a company. Therefore , a heated debate pertaining whether the leader should ask the advice from other members is under way. As far as I am concerned, the leader should insist his or her own opinion when others are wrong or lacking of creativity.

To begin with, when the employees lack the creativity, it is imperative for the leader to stick to his theory. To be specific, the leader should put the development of a corporation on the priority. Jack Welch can serve as a compelling example to shed light on my opinion. At Welch's time, most of his colleagues suggested the long-established strategies which ran a company with numerous layers and complicated decision-making process. However , Welch found flaws of these strategies and insisted his new policies, such as reducing the layers and employees of human hierarchy resources and implementing the informal atmosphere in his firm GE. Thanks to his insist on his own opinion, he led the company to a heyday.

Besides ,if others members have a wrong direction , the leader is responsible to take his own decision in to effect The case of Nicolaus Copernicus adds great weight to this reasoning. As the leader of a research team, Copernicus studied intensively in the Ptolemy's geocentric theory . However, he found this theory is wrong in some respects, thus he wanted to challenge it. Despite all the other member's advice on giving up his thinking and studying the prevalent theory, he did not change. After 43years' research , he finished the De revolutionibus coelestium, orbium and developed his own heliocentric theory, which fundamentally changed the realm of astronomy. Since his partners believed in the authority blindly and turned to a wrong direction, Copernicus , the leader of a research team, insisted on his own opinion and made great achievements.

In the final analysis, judging from the evidence offered above, I can hardly agree that the effective leader should try to make other members feel that they are part of decisions. Although asking other's opinion can solidify the unity of a team, the leader should have independent thinking to benefit the whole team.