IELTS - Education should be considered as the most important factor in a country's success

Economic progress is often used to measure a country's success. However, some people believe that other factors are more important. What other factors should also be considered when measuring a country's success? Do you think one factor is more important than others?

Some experts usually evaluate a country's development based on its economy alone. However there are more important factors contributing to the success of a nation, and among which education should be considered as the most important element.

The success of a country depends on a number of aspects in close relationship. Beside the economy, the national education, health, environment and culture play even more significant roles. In fact, the education provides skilled workforces for a country's job market. In addition, the remaining factors help to define the living standard and the sustainable development of that country. Take Vietnam for an example. If the government had allowed mining raw resources in highland areas, its forests would have been destroyed and its water resources would have been polluted. What seemed economically benefited at first would have resulted in a great impact to the environment and people heath, costing a large amount of government budget to fix problems.

In my opinion, among all factors that decide a national advancement, education plays the most important part. Firstly, every individuals need to be educated to the right level before they can join the workforce, especially when the modern work place is becoming more knowledge-based. These people will directly determine the quality and gains a country can make. Another important point is that without education, people have to turn to jobs which are usually low-paid, or they even hardly find a job. These people will rely on unemployment or low-income support from the government. Also, companies with low quality employers will hardly compete with others overseas.

In conclusion, there are many factors which are more important than the economy of a country in accessing its success, and education should be considered as the most important part.