IELTS - ECONOMY OR ENVIRONMENT

Developing Economy or Protecting The Environment

Achieving a balance between developing economy and protecting the environment has long been the headlines in agendas for most governments. Some people advocate that economy is the first priority when it comes to overall prosperity, while others against this idea, argue that environmental sustainability is the foundation of long-term wellness. This essay will reflect upon these two arguments.

Admittedly, we benefit from a growing economy in many settings. For example, a two-digits growth rate of Chinese economy drives many rural residents to work in urban manufacturing plants, where they earn twice as much as they do by farming at home. The increased earnings allow access to better medical care, which contributes significantly to the nation's overall longetivity. In addition, the massive growth in China also bumps demand in luxury goods, sports cars, newly constructed apartments, personal concierge and higher educational services. These spending efforts create new opportunities other than traditional manufacturing jobs, which ultimately helps China move up the economic value chain.

Despite the importance of reaching economic goal, environmental protections should be equally important in the agenda for the authority. For instance, in 2011, Japan suffered tremendous emotional and financial losses caused by the earthquake of 9.1 magnitude the afterquake tsunami. What became worse was the Fukuoshima nuclear plant aftermath that left thousand acres of lands inhabitable. The nuclear crisis ceased the recovering trend of japanese economy, and particularly, worsened the economic and living conditions of many poor people in that region. Therefore the call for environmental safety should not be overlooked and mistreated because when the perceived risk of getting caught up in environmental disaster increases, the likelihood of growing economy goes down.

In my opinion, protecting environments should be an urgent task. It is undeniably true that we will lose our friends, home, and resource to develop a healthy economy if we ignores the mother nature. Given that reasonable actions are taken, I see no excuse why a prosperous economy can't be in parallel to a healthy environment.