[IELTS] - Earlier Technologies vs Recent Technologies

Technological progress has taken place throughout the course of human history. While early technologies certainly changed the lives of normal people, I believe that recent breakthroughs have had an even greater impact.

Earlier technological innovations initially reached the rich society and slowed moved to ordinary people. Firstly, the invention and later ubiquitous availability of electricity lighted up every home in the world and it forms the base of other electrical equipments invented later to fulfil the various needs of the people. Secondly, the telephone was an important early technology that revolutionised the communication, allowing people to speak from different locations. Thirdly, technological breakthroughs led to the new forms of transport, such as cars, trains and planes, which have completely changed the way we travel and trade goods. Finally, TV and radio become the main source of entertainment those days and also helped in getting the news all around the world to the living room.

Modern technologies makes it available to all normal people due to its disinflation trend. Personal computers and Internet fundamentally change the way we get information, communicate and entertain ourselves or doing business. For example, business deals are closed via video conferencing than via business trips. Also, Services like Skype, opens up new possibilities of training for students allowing to get video lessons from teachers from any part of the world any time, thus have access to better quality and highly available education than ever before. From my personal experience, I had online training for IELTS exam in the evening after office hours. Another important lifestyle change is to use social networks like Facebook or Whatsapp, to keep in touch with friends and family and be up to date with their progress.

In conclusion, old technologies certainly revolutionised the life of a normal household but it took time to reach them whereas the recent technologies has easily become a part of a common man.