'Divorce' - Cause and effect essay on divorce

Hey everyone thanks in advance for helping! I really appreciate it and will return the favor. My professor told us to write a cause and effect paper. She told us that it has to be 500 words on a cause/effect situation that you personally know about. It could have involved you, or just someone you know. So I wrote about my husband's parents getting a divorce. Please let me know if there is anything I can change or do to make this paper an A+. I really need a good grade on it!

Thanks again :)

-Randi

Divorce

Half of American children will witness the breakup of their parent's marriage and close to half of these children will also see the breakup of theirs parent's second marriage. Thankfully I never had to experience this and my parents are still happily married after twenty-seven years. Unfortunately, my husband's parents divorced when he was only three years old. Even to this day he still lives with the effects of it. Divorce is a horrible thing and it is really hard on anyone that is involved. The stress of modern living makes a long list of causes for a divorce and the effects from a divorce are never ending.

The most common causes for a divorce are bad communication, cheating, financial problems, sex, and addictions. My husband's parents got divorced because they were no longer happy and fought all the time. Each parent has different reasons for their divorce, but I personally think that they got married young and they were growing into two different people. I know that financial problems and the stress of having two young children did not help with their marriage problems. I think there were a lot of causes behind their divorce and the last fight was just the straw that broke the camels back.

Most three year olds can't remember what happened a month ago much less remember something twenty years later, but my husband remembers the fight that led his parents to divorce like it was yesterday and he was only three. I think it mentally affected my husband. He tries to avoid the topic of his parents divorce and he just holds it all in instead of talking about it. It was really hard on him not seeing his dad as much and always having one parent talk bad about the other parent. He always says that he will never get a divorce and put his children through the pain that he went through. Now that he is older he does understand it better now and he sees that there are positive effects to a divorce too. It is better to be from a broken home than to live in one. Now his parents are both remarried and happy.

After his parents divorced they both remarried and had children. I think this was really hard on my husband because he felt left out. His parents had new children that were getting all the attention and being spoiled. His parents did not have much money when he was little, so he didn't have nice things like his younger siblings did. Now that he is older he understands and is very thankful that he has been blessed with his younger siblings. My husband is grown and has his own family now, but he still has to deal with the effects of a divorce. Holidays are really hard on us because we have to choose between parents. It is very hard to make everyone happy. Still till this day both parents have negative things to say about the other parent. Not only is it hard on my husband it is also hard on me.

In conclusion, people should think carefully before they get married because it is a life long commitment. Couples that have children should think deliberatively before they end their marriage in divorce; otherwise innocent children probably become victims for this situation. I never realized how bad divorce was until I met my husband. I do not ever think that the effects of divorce will end for us.