IELTS WRITING TASK 2: DISTANCE EDUCATION AND CLASSROOM-BASED EDUCATION

Distance education delivered via the Internet or television has more advantage than classroom-based education. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people prefer distance education to classroom-based education because they believe the former approach can bring more benefits. I am opposed to this opinion.

Those who are in favor of distance education may base their argument on following reasons. Firstly, information delivered via the Internet or television is as much as that in classroom with regard to the main content of the subjects. Communications through instant messaging tools are so smooth today that students will not miss any words or scenes due to long distance. Secondly, such kind of class is more convenient to have, both for teachers and students, who do not have to go out of their doors and travel a long way to the school. Finally, the cost of education can be greatly cut down because both parties of the education do not have to pay for transportation and facilities in school.

However, I believe that traditional method of teaching in the classroom can make education more productive. This is because the interaction between teachers and students arranged in the classroom are much richer in forms. For example, some science experiments are supposed to be presented through smell and touch rather than vision and hearing. Since the transference of these two senses via the Internet is still unachievable today, such kind of class can only be delivered in the classroom. In addition, classrooms are more likely to give students a sense of group, where they will feel more motivated to compete and co-operate. Students who are educated in such environment will be more proficient in socializing skills.

In conclusion, although distance education has many advantages, we should not abandon classroom-based education for the sake of them, because the latter approach is more practical and effective.