'different styles and constructions'; Preserving old historical buildings? TOEFL

Should a city try to preserve its old historical buildings or replace them with modern buildings?

Nowadays we are living in one modern and fast developing world. Everyday we face new contemporary issues everywhere around us.

These factors have a big influence to today's architecture and design. Architects, designers and engineers have a different point of view

and different way of thinking in comparison with their colleagues in the past.

Modern buildings are designed with improved fуnctional capacity. They are much more comfortable and built by more stable materials

than the old historical buildings. For example, in the past people have made bricks from clay and they have used the sunbeams to dry these bricks in order to work with them. Nowadays people use special materials, machines and methods to create more stable bricks. In comparison with the modern buildings, old historical buildings are not safety for people who pass close to them and live in them because of the old construction and wasted materials.

On the other hand,the old historical buildings show us our traditions and the specific architectural history. Also due to these old buildings we could see the improvement of the architecture through the years. However the design of the modern buildings is connected with all contemporary things we use in our daily life. Due to this modern design we can easily see the improvement of today's society.

In conclusion, buildings have different styles and constructions. They show us different periods of our lives. Some of the old buildings are dangerous for people, therefore they should be repaired in time. However the modern buildings help cities to look contemporary and attractive.