Detail the factors that affect editors to choose broadcasting news.

Every comment will be valued, so please leave some opinoins to me.

Prompts: News editors deside waht to broadcast on television and what to point in newspapers. What factors do you think influence those decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? (at least 250 words)

Speaking of the influences on decision-making of a news editor, responsibilities of media and target rating point come to my mind. Since news is in high demand among people and the majority of us get that from either televisions or newspapers, how do editors make their minds on news impacts us dramatically.

First of all, responsibility of media is a determining point to editors. Almost every press has its self-discipline rules toward information. As a result of that, editors need to choose topics deliberately to avoid the punishments from their employers. Secondly, to survive from competitive rivals in journalism industry, editors need to stick on what is capable to boost the circulation, such as immediacy and popularity. In a fast-moving society, broadcasting news within a split second is very crucial because nobody tends to possess news happened two or three days ago. Consequently, issues which are ready-to-broadcast will be the priority choices. Additionally, popularity plays an indispensable role in stimulating target rating point. For instance, in Taiwan, a gossip magazine called Apple once stayed on the top of the sales ranking for a long period of time due to remarkably sensationalizing news.

Turning to the impacts of news, sensationalizing and meaningless news have suffered our society since high circulation and high target rating point are the only concern for some press. Nevertheless, we should not ignore the truth that we learn from what we see and what we learn, as well as what we turn into. As a result, more good news should be broadcasted to make better life.