Destiny and Character; "Your moments of decisions affect your Destiny"

Is character the resultant of destiny, or is destiny the resultant of character? This question is in equivalence to the question: do we have control over our future? To answer these critical questions we must first be able to define the viewpoints: character is destiny and destiny is character. 'Character is destiny' is the viewpoint where we consider that all of our actions affect our future, whether it is as imperative as saving a life or as meager as taking a step; whether it be for the better or worse. However, destiny is character is the belief where we say that our future has already been planned and that can't be changed (Perhaps the control lies with a supreme being).

Destiny is character, just like any other argument has its reasons as to why it is correct. One point being that mankind has control over his future. For example, a man may want to exit a supermarket and he sees two doors from which he could exit; one door on the right and the other on the left. He may then ask himself," What door shall I pass through?'' Obviously, he can pass through any of the doors he wants to, so let's just assume he exited using the door on the right. Another reason is that we have been given a brain to use, and most of us have been given the ability to use it (are sane). Imagine a person who wants to set up a business, in order to set up the business he has to pay a sum of money to a person whom he does not know. This person may then question himself in confusion as to whether he should trust the person or not. It is his duty to exercise his brain and decide what he should do. Also there is nothing stopping him from doing what he wants as mankind has been given the blessing to do what he wants. Lastly, why do some students get better marks than those who are even smarter? Because those students who get the better marks must study harder than those who get lower marks. Also all students have a choice as to whether they should study or not, wise are the students who decide to take advantage of the time.

There is also another angle which is Destiny is character. Imagine a supreme being who has the power to do anything he wishes, in other words a god. Imagine this god making a person named X, it has been decided that X will be a mass murderer due to his disliking of a certain race. In the future when X is asked why he did so he may reply,'' My future has already been planned, similarly, I was already destined to kill these people.'' Imagine an accountant who is very tired of the workload he has, who then decides to go on a vacation. Due to his haste he buys first class tickets in advance (These tickets are non-refundable and nonexchangeable). On the day of his vacation, just before he leaves his house he gets a phone call from his boss telling him that there is a crucial meeting which he must attend at all costs, sadly he then has to cancel his trip. The lesson of this anecdote is that man proposes and god disposes.

Think of a student whose wants to become the future M.D of Microsoft, howbeit he doesn't study at all. When he is asked "Why?" he replies,'' It is my destiny!'' During the day of his GSCE Computer Studies exam he realizes he doesn't know how to answer any one of the questions, imagine his tear filled eyes as he calls on god to help him. However, there is still a slight chance he may prove to be a genius and successfully answers all of the questions correctly. Also think of a person who picks on people weaker than himself. When asked "Why?" he may reply,'' My action may affect my future, but I live in the present!'' Nonetheless, there is a chance that he may have a good reason to bully e.g. they may have provoked him.

In conclusion, there are two viewpoints for you to choose from, and you should pick whichever you see fit. 'It is your moments of decision which affect your destiny,'' Tony Robbins