How dependent we are on machines? / Are machines going to take over the world?

We are living in a society which is called a "technologically civilized" society. Every small work that we do is technology dependent. Today every other person is recognized with the device or gadget, he/she carries; which is, again, technically advanced. Ultimately, we can say that living without technology or machinery is like living without air in this modern world today. Therefore, we are much dependent on machines.

What is the role of machines in our lives today? Starting with a simple example of food storage, today the shelf life of the food products is increased with the help of modern technology and even preparation time of food is reduced with the help of new machines and equipment. But, think about it, would we really be able to live our lives if it hadn't been for these machines?

Apparatus, or machinery as we call it, has of course made our lives simple but much dependent on it. We can sit in a corner and get connected to the world; thus, making the world a "global community". Communicate with a person within fraction of seconds; make a trip to any part of the world in no time, all these are possible with the advanced technology. The simpler the work gets with machines, the more dependent we are on it.

Today, we don't find a single kid without using the available technology to him/her. It has made us dependent on it and we can't expect or imagine a life without using the word "technology" in it. Hence, machines do play a major role in our lives.

Finally, I'll leave you with one last question to think about - So, does utilizing more modern machinery mean we are more dependent on them?