In democracy the media can be controlled in terms of avoiding misrepresentation of information

Topic: Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little can be done to rectify this.

Task: To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Essay:

It is suggested that, whoever controls the media manipulates with options and decisions of the people and it is very hard to change this. I agree with this because I believe the main purpose of media is influencing people thought in profitable way for some instance like government or other political organizations.

On the one hand, I accept that regulation authorities can be established in order to control information flow and restrict distorted information which can influence people on behalf of one's benefit. In many countries, for example, there is an organization which does this work and can penalize TV channels for their misbehave. Existence of such kind of organization is expected to keep back information presenters from giving wrong information or trying to influence people decisions.

At the same time, I believe that in most countries, particularly in those where democracy is only artificial the media is one of important items to manipulate with people for the sake of government's benefits. So, as it is a case even having some control organizations can't restrict the misrepresentation of information. For example, in Russian TV news you often can see the information related to government interests is distorted. Another example of controlling of crowd via media can be Turkey. The Turkish government successfully uses the media to keep people busy in simple issues giving not much time them to participate in political life of country.

To sum up, it is true that the media can be controlled in terms of avoiding misrepresentation of information, but in my opinion it is possible only developed countries where the democracy is highly valued.