IELTS: Decreasing Levels of Fresh Water

Topic: Decreasing levels of fresh water sources are becoming a global issue. What are the reasons? What can be done by governments to prevent it?

There has been an alarming reduction in the amount of waterground tables in the last decade. This depletion in water level of aquifers has become a worldwide issue. There are various reasons behind this and also several measures could be taken to tackle this problem.

The fist cause of water sources drawdown is inappropriate water consumption pattern in the countries across the world. In Iran, for instance, the water consumption per capita is six times more than the global average, which has resulted in largely depleting of water tables. Water tables which simply function as the Earth natural water tanks play a very pivotal role in life of human beings and the nature itself. The lower the elevation of the water table would be, the more drought and ecological disasters and threats could occur. This problem can be solved if the social awareness arises by the governments thereby encouraging individuals to reduce the misuse of water thereby imposing strict rules as prohibitions. This is a burden on individuals to consume water in an efficient way.

The second cause of aquifers' water loss is lack of efficient drainage systems in order to facilitate the infiltration of surface water and precipitations into the ground. In the absence of such management and supervision, the water would definitely waste and its destination would be directed to wrong places which would be out of control. As a result, the yield of precipitation would reduced in an alarming rate. This issue can be addressed by the government investment in the field of enhancing agricultural processes, as well as controlling surface water direction by constructing dams, water barriers, canals and drains which will result in increasing water elevation in aquifers.

To conclude, it is clear that the main causes of reducing levels of water tables are inappropriate water consumption pattern in societies and lack of efficient systems for directing water provided by precipitations. However, this incompetent trend could be prevented and resolved by measures taken by the governments and with consciously contribution of individuals.