"The Decline of Manners" by Judy Martin

Please help with my essay today and feel free to discuss it. Thanks in advance, Chad

The following article "The Decline of Manners," by Judy Martin and appears in the November 2009 issue of the journal Behavioral Analysis.

In "The Decline of Manners," by Judy Martin, the author state that "people of today are ruder than they were twenty or thirty years ago." Martin also goes on to declare that people of today are "slovenly, less communicative, and generally impolite to one other." She claims "...increasing informality dress and grooming," "...lack of communication skills," and "...sense of mean-spiritedness" applies to this behavior. She targets to certain age group communicating that "... obvious to anyone over the age of thirty." Since Martin is guilty of using multiple logical fallacies such as generality, authority issue and arguments that do not follow the article unsuitable of fact or place. She also fails to provide any reputable source to back her claims.

First of all, Martin argues that "...the decline of manners is the increasing informality of dress and grooming." Describing their fashion is an attack on people of today. People from all the world are fashion. Fashion has spread in all the spheres of our life. Fashion does not only mean a style of clothes or hair, but it also include etiquettes, manners and habits. Fashion with a manners has do nothing with this. But in the most workplaces have dress code in effect that would disprove this theory.

Next, she argues that "...the decline of manners is the increasing lack of communication skills resulting from the ubiquity of electronic, hand-held gadgets." The technology is supported with the simple but relevant notion that technology allows us access to information and abilities to communication. There are different ways to speak and write to communicate with a formal, text message or email in order to instill good manners in their life.

Finally, she conclude that "... a general sense of mean-spiritedness characterise most people interaction in this day and age." Every human being should be taught by ones parents with due respect and dignity. Good manners do not come naturally, they have to be learned. If children were not told and shown how to behave politely they will grow up rough and rude like savages.

In conclusion, Martin uses multiple logical fallacies and lack reputable sources, a reasonable reader cannot agree with the article as written.