Should the dealth penalty be abolished in current society?

Hey, there,

I want to thanks every one who is going to give some comments about my essay. Thank you for your time.

Prompts: Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? (at least 250 words)

To execute or not to execute, to me, is like to be or not to be. This is a question. However, I, as a human being, believe capital punishment should be banned for three reasons below.

Firstly, from a perspective of social morality, death penalty should be banned. The protection of human lives, freedom, properties and such rights is the main purpose of organizing a government. Consequently, it is governments' obligation to protect their citizens' lives but not deprive them.

Secondly, from a perspective of social deviant behavior, death penalty should be abolished. A tit-for-tat strategy, comparing to a pay-back-in-kind strategy, would impact the young generation adversely. By paying back an eye for an eye, we might stick our lives in a vicious circle. Conversely, when we embrace kindness and goodness toward others, we are capable to have better lives. Furthermore, how can we condemn an unfeeling murderer exploiting people's lives while we are doing the same thing?

Thirdly, from a perspective of healing, death penalty should be abrogated. Some revenge-focused individuals consider that nothing is going to change unless they finally kill the person who has killed their beloved ones. On the contrary, revenge will never cure the grief and emptiness of a lost loved one. What is more, revenge is useless in that it does not bring the victim back to life. The truth is that forgiveness is the only way to start the healing process.

In summary, even though people hold various viewpoints toward death penalty, taking social morality, social deviant behavior and healing process into account, I am still for banning death penalty.