'cultural homogenization'; Effects of increasing tourism in different countries

Topic: The costs of international travel are decreasing and tourism is growing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of increasing tourism activity in different countries?

As the result of globalization, international travel's expense are now declined and tourism activity is now rising. This has become one of the significant issues for every countries, because of its positive and negative effects. The following essay will analyzes the effect of increased tourism activity in the economy, the culture and the nature.

It is argued that international travel brings many benefits for a country. One of the most vivid effect that we can see is the rising of economy. The volume of tourists ascending on many tourist attractions means that the government has to improve the infrastructure and build many attractive places for the tourists. Consequently, the country is more developed and the economy is growing thanks to the money the government invests. Moreover, accelerating tourism activities generates more jobs for the unemployed. Job creations will meet demand of working for many jobless people. Many new restaurants and hotels need employees while more and more tourists come to the country. Therefore, there are many advantages to this trend, which help the growing economy and create jobs.

Besides having a lot of positive effects, increased traveling has some disadvantages for the nature and culture. The most obvious result is cultural homogenization. Tourists bring their own national identity when they visit a country. That's the easiest way for the native people to access the international culture; however, they will be overwhelmed by new lifestyle. The will easily adapt new things and almost forget the old and precious traditions. The second consequence is devastatingly natural destruction. If the government continues to build more infrastructure for the tourism activity, there will be deforestation, overusing pesticides, loss of habitat, and many animals, flora and fauna will be endangered seriously. As a survey conducted by Environmental Bureau, the more buildings are built, the more extinct the animals and forest are. Hence, tourism activity affect negatively to the nature and culture.

All in all, rising traveling activity brings both advantages and disadvantages for a countries. In my opinion, the country is likely be affected negatively if the government still develop the tourism sector. Not only the government but also the people should take action to prevent the cultural erosion and the natural destruction.