[TOEFL] Being creative rather than planning.

Topic: Being creative, rather than planning carefully, often results in the best solution to a problem

In rapidly changing modern society, people have become more suceptible to a variety of problems and that of solutions than the past, which then raise intriguing question: what is the best way to solve a problem. Some may argue that creative person often come up with more plausible solution, while others disagree with the statement by saying that careful planning can bring better solution to a problem. In my opinion, I believe that solutions suggested by careful planner seems more reasonable than that by creative one.

To begin with, no individuals can exactly predict what problems they will face in their future, so planning is important to prepare themselves for those problems. Although people can learn from mistakes they made in their past,they are unlikely to come up with a solution for unforseen future based on their creativity and even so, the solution may bring unfavorable result. Take my case as an example, druing summer vacation, I and my friends promptly decided to have a special trip to Europe to explore new languages and cultures. However, most of us were in a hole for school loan to pay and rent for apartment. As we were so eager to put our decision in practice, one of us suggested to buy a number of lotteries which can provide us with enough money for our trip provided that we win the first prize. On the contrary to our high expectations, we ended up spending more money in addition to our huge debts to pay. This implies that planning is the best way to make more ideal solutions by looking at the problems more thoroughly.

In addition, only selective number of people have talent in thinking creatively but not everyone. Different people have different talents and not everyone share talents that the others have while some do share. To be more specific, Bill Gates, the former chairman of Microsoft, made a huge change in today's computur technology by inventing this innovative software that no one could think of. Furthermore, Jimmy, one of my best high school peers, had a dream of becoming the world famous Korean pop singer. Thinking he had an exceptional talent in singing, he had participated in Korean Idol, which auditions each candidates and select one with the best singing talent. Unlike his strong will to become a singer, judges discouraged him by saying that he can be better off by studying hard than singing since he had no ability in singing. Like this, well planning can prepare person for successful future by making them well aware of every possibilities along with the problem.

In conclusion, although some people might argue that planning is waste of time and people should think as they go, it seems to me that advantages of planning carefully far out than being creative for since one cannot predict his own future and creative is given to only few people.

This is actual topic I had for my TOEFL test on last Saturday,

and this is what I wrote for that topic with slight difference.

Since it was the topic, I have not prepared for, it took me a while to

come up with ideas and I ended up just writing without proper planning(Ironically I contradicted myself by claiming that planning is important in my essay lol).

I guess my argument is off the topic, and I couldn't think of any supporting sentences for my second paragraph.