What should a country do: run/ carry out the policy of isolating from the world or engaging others?

Do U agree: Country should not isolate themselves from the world, but instead engage other countries?

Whether a country had better run/ carry out the policy of isolating themselves from the world or engaging others has already attracted much social concern. Some people, especially in the old days, suggest that it is better for a nation to limit relationship with nations around them. From my own viewpoint, I strongly oppose this suggestion.

First and foremost, what I put in my priority is economic development. Having trade with other countries, one is likely to make use of specific comparative advantage. They can increase production in fields having comparative advantage as well as not focus on fields that do not. By importing or exporting goods and services according to comparative advantage, this nation not only satisfies domestic needs but also maximizes benefits from commerce. Besides, assimilation creates chances for a nation, especially an underdeveloped nation, to learn technology and experience of developed nations for a sharp growth in the future. For instance, developed nations have already spent a large budget on researching methods to increase agricultural productivity, but underdeveloped nation has not. All it has to do is buying ultimate technology and inheriting the result. For the benefits mentioned above, a country is supposed to engage other countries.

Secondly, social concern is undoubtedly of paramount importance. Culture exchange will certainly happen if citizens have opportunities to go travel abroad, access foreign culture products such as music, film or literature. This perfects spiritual standard of living and also opens people's eyes to a brand new horizon. More importantly, there are several global issues nowadays that need commitments of nations. Consider the fact of global warming. It is impossible for an individual country to prevent the continuous rise in the average temperature of Earth's climate system. Countries all around the world are supposed to reach consensus on how to stop this trend. Therefore, cooperation between nations is surely a need.

In summary, for all the reasons mentioned above, it is advisable for a nation to widely engage others. I highly recommend that governments should take my writing into consideration to make an appropriate decision on this topic.