In some countries most of the people prefer to rent a house rather than buy one

In some countries, most of the people prefer to rent a house rather than buy one. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a house?

At present, people in many countries are more likely to rent a house than buy one. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of renting a house.

There are several advantages of renting a house. Firstly, renting a house costs much less than buying one. Typically, buying a house places a heavy burden on the family, which could lead to the decline in the quality of life. By contrast, renting one usually accounts for a relatively small proportion of the household income. Secondly, renting a house allows people more opportunities to choose the one they really like. For example, some people prefer the house equipped with more facilities, such as a swimming pool, a beautiful yard. Similarly, other people tend to rent the house with the style of decoration they are in favor of. Finally, renting a house can have more flexibilities. People living in a renting house could live or work anywhere. Because unlike the owner, they don't have any concern about the house.

However, there are negative aspects to renting a house. Sometimes, people living in a house not owned by themselves may feel no the sense of belonging. This may be caused by some potential uncertainties, such as the landlord breaks the contract suddenly or declines a renewal. Another drawback may be that renting is not a cost-efficient way, compared with buying. Because the price of a house is rising in the long run, due to inflation.

To sum up, renting or buying a house completely depends on what the person pursues. If people like new challenges, they probably would rent a house. While others who want to lead a stable life might buy a house.