corporal punishments to students

Quest in IELTS: In many countries corporal punishments is routinely given to the students while in some countries they are banned. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving punishments to students?

Different cultures look punishment at different levels. Corporal punishment in schools varies according to their culture. Western schools are against corporal punishments whereas most of the oriental schools are in favour of corporal punishments in order to mould the younger generation.

Asian schools have a gurukul type of teaching which got influenced by their tradition. Asian culture of moulding a student's character and career requires canes to punish them if they are in a wrong way. Either curricular or co-curricular teachers have the responsibility to moulds a student's career as well as character. If children are not punished they will have a tendency to do the same mistake again and again on the other hand, advices or philosophy does not make any different in a child's mind. Famous experimentalist Mr. Pavlov once proved that animals shows a positive response when get punished. A student is unaware about the value of literacy and character formation.

In contrast, western countries such as America, Australia and Newzealand banned corporal punishment in schools. Europeans have no respect towards their hierarchy. Teachers and elders are considered as mere civilians. Respect for hierarchy plays a major role in moulding discipline. Lack of discipline and character formation can leads to anarchy. When there is no discipline in schools children will have their legs upon the desk and will hang around in the class while taking classes.

However punishment should have a limit. Punishment should be mild so that next time the student won't repeat the same mistake again and again. Instead punishment should not be harsh in order to show teachers hatred and vengeance towards the student which will have an adverse effect in student's career.

To conclude corporal punishments should be given to students with a motive correct them. Discipline, career, moreover character should be moulded in childhood itself for a better tomorrow.