'no control' - The mass media and their influence on people's ideas

Good morning all!

I'm practicing writing. And this is my first time here. Please help me check this essay!Thank you.

The mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

The mass media, including TV, radio, newspapers play a very important role in our modern life. They have change our life very much. In my opinion, it is not execrable to say that they have a great influence in shaping people's ideas, both for the better and for the worse.

First, the mass media affect people's fashion. Simply take a glance at the way you dress right now, it was probably something you have pick up over the internet or magazines. What we are wearing may look similar to what famous actors or singers have worn recently. And all of the things we often to is to imitate the models appear every day in fashion shows.

Second, we cannot deny that the mass media have a great contribution to shaping our ways of thinking. What we watch on TV, radio: what we read in newspaper and magazines affect ,without our awareness, a great deal to our thinking. Does what Obama, Bill Gates say on TV mean anything to you? Does what your music idols wear affect your taste of fashion? I definitely believe the answer will be "yes". When choosing what to wear, most of us have a tendency to choose what is said or shown to be fashionable by famous people.

Third, it is obvious that the mass media also play an important role in our attitude to life. Some people complained that children nowadays tend to be lazier and more violent and want to come in for a share of social's product as much as possible. This is simply the result of bad programmes shown on T.V all time, incontrollable websites and even the carelessness of parents. To be free from their children, some people allow the children to surf the webs, without noticing that there are plenty of disasters on Internet which the young have little experience to deal with. People, especially teenagers, always have an idol and they tend to follow what their idols do and say no matter these things are good or bad.

In conclusion, we have absolutely no control over the media. However, we do have the final decision on the path we choose to take. The extent of the power mass media is able to influence us only reaches this far, the rest is really still within our control.