IELTS: The concept of only mothers raising their kids has become an old one

Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up." To what extent do you agree?

The concept of only mothers raising their kids has become an old one. I strongly support the idea that it is also a responsibility of the father in bringing up their children for several reasons.

The most important reason is that in this fast growing world, women are also working hard to earn money. After putting several hours of work outside the house, helping the kids with their homework, making meals for them etc becomes an extremely difficult task for the mother. This is why fathers should also chip in. This would bring balance to the duties of both the parents.

A further reason is that, from psychological point of view, if the mother spends more amount of time with her child, it is obvious that the child will be deprived of paternal love and care. This in turn will make a child more dependent on the mother and less close to the father.

Finally, from educational perspective, there are certain things that only a mom can teach her kid whereas he learns a few skills exclusively from the father. For example, a mother can teach soft skills such as communicating and interacting with people while the father can teach some tough skills which are required to survive the harsh realities of life.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that both the parents are equally responsible for bringing up their kid. This will help to avoid conflict between the couple. Also, the child will develop his all round personality under the loving care and guidance of both the parents. Finally, the learning process of the kid will get a boost with the intervention of the mother as well as the father.