Computers usage at school-level studies for children (IELTS)

School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Modern technology has totally changed our approach to study. In the past, children only had option of writing with pen on paper and reading from paper-based books. Nowadays, most of the schools do not pay much attention towards the traditional way of reading and writing. This may cause some issues. I completely agree to stop computers usage at school-level studies and will propose some reasons to support my statement.

The principal reason to abandon computer usage at school-level studies is the elimination of writing skills from a child. There can be many occasions where a person do not have access to computers and if the child is unfamiliar with writing in any language without computer then consequences can be imagined. For example, a person wants to express its emotions in a written way and there is no access of computers. The situation like this may create problem for such a child as the child is not at all familiar with the structure of alphabets while writing.

Another reason is the impact of computers screen on a child's eyes while using it. It is severe in reading. As the children's eyes are very fragile, so constant radiations may harm their eyesight. Short eyesight and sometimes completely blindness are some of its examples. Constant reading and reading in unsuitable positions from computer are bad for a child's physical and mental health.

To summarize, I believe that at least in the primary schools studies children should be discouraged to use computers, as this may create a knowledge gap for writing skills and may result in bad health by reading text through computers.