Computers overweigh schools so schools will disappear

Some people think computers and the Internet have more benifit than schools so schools will disappear from our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In current society, technological means are advancing at an amazing speed, which has transformed our lives, especially in the field of education. Even though some people argue that computers and the Internet are of utmost importance in assisting a child's learning, I firmly believe this learning should be guided and directed by experience of teachers.

There is no denying the fact that due to technological advances, modern methods are widely used in schooling. As knowledge can be presented in a vivid and novel way, they enable students to have a good commend of what has been taught as well as to give children vital skills in readiness for later life. However, the extensive use of the Internet will give rise to some adverse effects, for instance, the website may not be a reliable source of knowledge, since there is often conflicting information available when taken from different sources. By that I mean, students will be comfused by a great deal of controversial information and accept so-called knowlege indiscriminately.

A school is a place where students gather to be educated and learn from each other, which is a tranditional and long-established practice in all countries. At school, students are divided according to their academic performance and learn things though understanding. Apart from acquiring knowledge, students profit from participating non-academic activities with peers, in terms of team spirit and moral values, which can never be provided by computers.

In conclusion, modern technologis and tranditonal methods are not mutually exclusive. I feel that computers and the Internet can complement some teaching and learning methods, without being used as replacement for those tranditions.