Compare and Contrast essay of my parents

Hi, i need to pass up this essay as my writing assignment. It's graded. Can you give some comment about my essay? My writing is not good. I hope you can help me. Thx =)

We always think that for a happy marriage, the two persons should share many similarities. My parents have been married for 26 years and they have a happy marriage. However, people always curious about the how they can hardly have a quarrel for they are two very different people. Their differences in physical appearance, view towards life as well as personalities are so obvious that even a stranger can see it.

My mother and father are Chinese. But, their facial bone, body size and skin color are in contrast to each other. My father has facial bone of Europeans in which he has big, round eyes with thick eyebrows. His nose is very high as the nose of those western characters. Different from Asian, his skin is fair and slightly pink in color. As for his body size, father has height of 162cm which is below the average height of a normal man. Also, he is very thin and has skinny limbs.

My mother is of the opposite of my dad. She has a typical Asian face with small eyes below her sparse eyebrows. She has low bridge of the nose and the shape of the tip of her nose is as if a red guava. My mother is fatter than my father. She is 60kg in weigh and 170cm tall which is slightly too fat and tall for an Asian woman. Different from my father, my mother has yellow and dark skin like the color of milk chocolate. Her limbs are slightly too long and strong for a woman as a result of hard work in rubber estate during her young age.

Besides physical appearance, they have very different views towards life. My father is a businessman. For him, one should not enjoy his life. In his point of view, Working and earning money is the main purpose of living rather than enjoyment. Consequently, it always takes us a lot of effort to persuade him for a trip to any places with our family during the holiday, even during Chinese New Year celebration. Also, he does not think that one should depend on God in his life. Therefore, religion is not important for him as the success and failures in his life are of the consequences of his actions rather than God's blessings and punishments.

My mother, on the other hand, has a view that one should enjoy his life at the same time he works. For her, earning money is an endless process and money is earned to spend. It is silly to earn a lot of money and store it in the bank without spending it forever. Furthermore, she thinks that spending money is a reward for herself after her hard work. Apart from that, mother always rely on God. In her point of view, God is the controller of our lives. Everything that happens in our lives is of fate and destiny that have planned by God. For this reason, religion is very important in her life.

Lastly, my parents have contrary personalities. My father is a dull man. He is neither romantic nor interesting at all. He never remembers and celebrates our birthday. In fact, he never gives mother a surprise for their marriage anniversary. Also, he is a rigid and strict father for us. He trains us to be discipline and polite to the elder people. He set curfew for us so that we do not come back home late at night. I remember once, my brother and I went back home late. As a result, we were being locked outside of our house until the next morning. So, we shall never make him angry unless we want his serious punishment for our misbehaviors.

As for mother, she is a fun and romantic woman. She holds birthday party for us almost every year and says "It's your birthday! You should celebrate for you have grown up another year!" For their marriage anniversary, she never admonish father for his carelessness. Therefore, she plays the role who gives surprises for father during their anniversaries. Furthermore, she is flexible and adventurous. She understands that teenagers love freedom; therefore, she does not set excessive rules for us. It is not that she is not protective or caring; she has some rules, too, to make sure that we are safe and well-behaved. For instance, we should inform her of the place we go and the people we hang out with if we were to go back home late.

Even though my father and mother are in contrast in many aspects, they have a very happy marriage. So, it can be concluded that the differences between two persons will not be the obstacles in building a happy marriage. I believe it is toleration that allows them to build a strong bond between themselves and leads toward a happy marriage with no quarrels or family issues.