'it is rather a common phenomenon for people to have debts' - causes of debts and prevention

Here comes the essay question:

Some people get into debt by buying things they dont need and can't afford. What are the reasons for the behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

My answer:

Nowadays, it is rather a common phenomenon for people to have debts than before, which might be a direct result of invention of credit card and a desire of trying to catch up with some trends. Since credit card has been being convenient for shopping, it tends to lure people to buy random items without paying for it right away.

Layaway plans could trick people who do not pay attention to their expenditure and keep a day book of their daily spending. Then, once the bill all come, people who overspent would easily in debt after they have a picture of how they have spent in months. Not only can credit cards drive people to buy the unnecessaries or some expensive ones by little amount of down payment, but also trends can stir up people's desire of popular hits. Fancy clothes, shoes, watches, and so on, especially some of which are endorsed by celebrities, are the blames for the debts from shopping blindly.

In my opinion, the best way to avoid any of these from happening is to figure out an arrangement plan for the money we earn by hard working, to know it clearly what's the mandatory items to buy and to set up a budget for monthly spending. Most important of all, think at least twice before we buy anything in shops or when we are about to click the payment button on computer.

To sum up, since we can't totally escape from credit card and commercials back up by celebrities, we need to pay attention of our spending habit. Therefore, we can uproot some bad expenditure habit and avoid from having debts by knowing where exactly did our money go.