Combustion of Food to Find Stored Energy-Mini Evaluation

A small scale homework task, not an essay...

I would gladly welcome and grammatical critique or proof-reading!

Energy in Food-Evaluation

Having executed an inconclusive investigation in which food samples were unsuccessfully combusted to produce heat in order to raise the temperature of a body of water, there is an array of evaluative remarks to be made.

Firstly, the fact that some food samples proved difficult to ignite and only produced a small flame meant that not all the heat energy from the combustion was transferred to the water; hence, the stored chemical energy in the foodstuffs was not fully released. This made it impossible to obtain an accurate estimation of the energy in the food samples.

((indented paragraph beneath the former)) The release of energy from the food sample through combustion allows energy to escape into the surrounding body of air, air movement and saturation effect the amount of energy lost. The vertical distance between the test tube and the combusting food sample should also be taken into consideration and be kept consistent as it influences the amount of heat energy that is transferred to the test tube.

Additionally, the fact that the food samples were of different sizes meant that the surface area to volume of the different food samples was inconsistent. Therefore, the rate of combustion among the selection of samples differed greatly. The faster the rate of combustion, the quicker the rise in the thermometer reading of the water; however, this does not correlate to the food having a high energy content. Some foods may burn slower and for a longer time, yielding lower temperature increases because of the slower rate of combustion, even though they actually have more stored energy; therefore, the experiment with the employed methodology was inaccurate.

In investigations of a similar nature, I would suggest that the food samples to be ground down with the use of pestle and mortar or electronic blender to ensure a consistent, small size of food particulates and keep similar the rate of combustion and energy release to yield more reliable results in the future.